AAVP 51st Annual Meeting

The 51st Annual Meeting of the AAVP was held at the Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, Hawaii, on 15-18 July 2006. Congratulations to the awards winners:

  • Dr. John McCall – Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist
  • Dr. Raf Roncalli – Distinguished Service Award
  • Sheila Mitchell, Virginia Tech – AAVP/Intervet Outstanding Graduate Student
  • Jeanne Howell, Washington State University – 1st Place Best Student Presentation
  • Martin Nielsen, Royal Veterinary & Agriculture University, Denmark – 2nd Place Best Student Presentation

Dr. John W. McCall being presented with the 2006 Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist Award at the AAVP Annual Meeting (left to right: Dr. Jorge Guerrero, Dr. McCall, Dr. Doug Carithers).

Dr. Dan Snyder is AAVP President for 2006-2007 and Dr. Susan Little was elected as Program Chair for next year's meeting in Washington, DC. Heather Stockdale, Auburn University, is the new student representative.

2006 Mid-Year Meeting

The Executive Board consisting of Drs. Ann Donoghue, Dan Snyder, David Lindsay, Al Marchiondo, Craig Reinemeyer and the student representative, Isabelle Verzberger, met 3-4 February in Kansas City, Missouri, for the 2006 mid-year meeting.

This board meeting has become important in identifying association priorities and establishing committee goals to meet the objectives of the membership and association. Committee chairs and members will be given specific assignments and targets